njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group:

State Board of Taxes and Assessment

Series: Railroad Basement Structure Detail Plans, 1912-1939
Accession #: 1993.029
Series #:  SZTAX001
Guide Date: 8/1993 (JK)
Volume: 4 c.f. [326 maps]


Structure Index

Content Note

This series contains photostatic reproductions of architectural plans from New Jersey railroad companies showing basement structure details (e.g., for bridges, stations, signal towers, etc.). The set was apparently maintained by the State Board of Taxes and Assessment; however, it is not known what specific use the plans had or how they relate to other railroad records kept by the board and its successors. While the series documents structures as far south as Cape May County, most of the drawings relate to structures along railroad lines in the northeastern portion of New Jersey. With the exception of (loose) 1912 drawings of Pennsylvania Railroad's Summit Avenue Passenger Station in Jersey City, the collection dates from the period 1921-1939.

The basement structure detail plans were originally kept in two oversized volumes: Book No. 1, containing plans #2000-[#2134]; and Book No. 2, containing plans #3000-#3190. For ease of use and for preservation purposes, the two volumes were disbound and the plans filed in map folders. The majority of the items are positive photostats measuring roughly 16"x25".



Structure Index

This index provides basic identification of each structure, the initial month and year found on the related plans, and the corresponding plan numbers. Under each railroad, structures are grouped by division and branch whenever this information is included on the plans.

Description Date Plan Nos.
Central Railroad Company of New Jersey - Central Division    
  Main Line    
    Bridge No. 16/73, Cranford 6/1928 2084
    Bridge over Centennial Ave., Cranford 5/1928 2089-2090
    Bridge over Lincoln Ave., Cranford 11/1927 2085-2088
    Bridge over Rahway River, Cranford 6/1928 2091-2093
    Bridge over Union and Walnut Sts., Cranford 7/1928 2080-2083
    Passenger Station, Cranford 7/1928 2095-2105
    Shelter Shed for Van Nostrand Place, Jersey City 4/1929 2094
  Jersey City Terminal    
    Box Car Loader between Docks #9 and #10 5/1929 2108-2109
    Driveway for Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Auto Buses 7/1926 2106
    Yard Crane between Docks #9 and #10 6/1928 2107
Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad    
  Morris and Essex Division    
    Concrete pole for Signal Department (standard) 10/1927 3075
  Passenger Station, Paterson 7/1927 3076-3080
  Warehouse and Freight Terminal, Jersey City 10/1928 3081-3107
Erie Railroad    
  New York Division    
    Jersey City Terminal    
      Mail Building 7/1928 3033-3038
      Pier No. 9 3/1925 3048-3057
      Power House, 9th and Provosts Sts. 6/1924 3058-3064
      Pump House 3/1927 3067-3068
      Seaboard Terminal Refrigeration Company Warehouse 8/1926 3024-3025
      Truscon Standard Building 7/1927 3047
    Main Line    
      Ash Pit, Paterson 10/1925 3065
      Bridge over Fulton St., Paterson 5/1927 3010-3012
      Bridge over Governor St., Paterson 5/1927 3008-3009
      Bridge over Keen St., Paterson 11/1925 3022-3023, 3026
      Bridge over Lafayette St., Paterson 12/1925 3019-3021
      Bridge over Montgomery St., Paterson 9/1926 3013-3014
      Bridge over River and Warren Sts., Paterson 11/1926 3016-3018
      Bridge over State Hwy. No. 17, East of Rutherford 11/1927 3001-3007
      Express Station, Paterson 4/1926 3029-3032
      Passenger Station, River St., Paterson 8/1927 3044-3046
      Passenger Station, Radburn 4/1929 3039-3040
      Railing, Retaining Walls to Governor St., Paterson 11/1927 3015
    New Jersey and New York Railroad    
      Passenger Station, Montvale 7/1924 3028
    Newark Branch    
      Bridge over Passaic St., Kearny 3/1926 3000
      Passenger Station, Essex 2/1921 3041
      Signal Tower, Newark Junction, Paterson 8/1925 3027
    Northern Railroad of New Jersey    
      Passenger Station, Moresmere 5/1928 3042-3043
  New York, Susquehanna and Western Railroad    
    Passenger Station, Pompton Lakes 6/1928 3069-3073
    Thawing House, Undercliff 10/1927 3074
  Standard    
    Two-unit Concrete-Section Tool House 4/1926 3066
Hudson and Manhattan Railroad    
  General Layout no date 3186
  Erie Station no date 3189-3190
  Exchange Place Station no date 3188
  Grove Street Station no date 3187
Lehigh Valley Railroad    
  New York Division - Main Line    
    Bridge over Frelinghuysen Ave./Peddie St., Newark 3/1928 3108-3123
    Edgewater Branch    
      Watchman's Shanty and Milk Platform, Jersey City 7/1926 3124
    Freight Station, Pennsylvania Ave., Newark 11/1927 3128-3130
    Irvington Coal Trestle, Newark 5/1926 3143-3147
    New Oak Island Yard, Newark    
      50-Ton Circular Gravity Sand Plant 11/1925 3142
      500-Ton Coaling Plant 8/1927 3139-3141
      Boiler House and Shop Building 9/1927 3135-3138
      Coal Trestle 9/1927 3155
      Engine House 8/1927 3131-3134
      Labor Camp 7/1927 3148-3149
      Office Building/Transfer Platform 6/1927 3125-3127
      Train Crew Layover Building 10/1927 3150-3154
New York Central Railroad    
  West Shore Railroad - Buffalo and East River Division    
    New Jersey Junction Branch    
      Milk Handling Facilities, Weehawken 12/1929 3184-3185
    Passenger and Freight Stations, Teaneck 2/1925 3172-3176
    Passenger Station, Ridgefield Park 7/1926 3163-3171
    Passenger Station, West Englewood 5/1926 3177-3180
    Pedestrian Subway at Station, West View 10/1926 3181-3183
    Signal Station - "F.Y.," Little Ferry 9/1926 3156
    Signal Station - "W.E.," New Durham 5/1926 3157-3159
    Signal Station - "T.U.," Weehawken 7/1926 3160-3162
Pennsylvania Railroad    
  Atlantic Division - West Jersey and Seashore Railroad    
    Passenger Station, Avalon 1/1927 2068
  Trenton Division (see also New York Division)    
    Bridge over Delaware and Raritan Canal, South of Lalor St.,
Trenton
11/1928 2034
  New York Division    
    Main Line    
      680-Ton Steel Coaling Station, Greenville 1/1939 2000-2028
      Bridge over Newark Bay, East of Newark 5/1927 2029-2033
      Freight Facilities, Barracks Yard, Trenton 4/1928 2069-2076
      Market Street Station, Newark 1/1932 2051-2058
      Passenger Station, Journal Square, Jersey City 12/1927 2059-2067
      Passenger Station, Summit Ave., Jersey City 6/1912 [2124-2133]
      Platforms/Shelters, Manhattan Produce Yard, Kearny 6/1927 2077
      Poultry Yard, Jersey City 11/1929 2079
      Warehouse and Pier Terminal, Jersey City 7/1929 2035
    New York Bay Railroad    
      Poultry Yard, Newark 4/---- 2078
Pennsylvania-Reading Seashore Lines    
  Atlantic City Terminal    
    Baggage and Bus Facilities 4/1934 2042-2043
    Freight House 7/1934 2045-2047
    Passenger Station 4/1934 2036-2041
    Railway Express Building 4/1934 2044
  Signal Cabin, East of Thorofare 1/1934 2048-2049
  Track Levels and Upper Roof [no location] 1/1932 2050
Reading Railroad    
  Atlantic City Railroad    
    Signal Tower, Williamstown Junction 10/1925 2119
  Cape May Branch    
    Bridge over Dennis Creek, South of Dennisville 11/1926 2114-2115
  New York Division    
    Bridge over Public Road, East of Harlingen 1/1925 2117-2118
  Port Reading Railroad    
    Ruberoid Company: Bridge over Public Road, Bridge over
Raritan River, and Bridge over Delaware and Raritan Canal,
near Bound Brook
10/1927 2110-2113
    Bridge over Lehigh Valley Railroad, East of Durham Siding 5/1926 2116
  Station Facilities, Trenton Junction [West Trenton] 5/1929 2120-2122
  Trenton Branch - Delaware and Bound Brook Railroad
   
    Engine Facilities, Prospect St., Trenton 8/1926 2123
United New Jersey Railroad and Canal Company/
New Jersey Junction Railroad
   
  Intersections, Jersey City [illeg.] [2134]

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations