njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Urban Colored Population Commission
Series: Records, 1944-1947
Accession #: 1984.053 & unknown
Series #:  SZURC001
Guide Date:  Pre-1989
Volume: 2.5 c.f. [4 boxes]


Content Note | Contents

Institutional History

During the 1930s and 1940s Afro-Americans migrated en masse from the rural south to northern cities, giving rise to racial discrimination and the segregation of blacks in urban ghettos. In 1938, the New Jersey State Legislature created the Commission on the Condition of the Urban Colored Population (P.L. 1938, c. 393) as a temporary body to investigate racial discrimination in New Jersey, and to recommend remedial legislation.

On the heels of this commission's findings, the Urban Colored Population Commission was created in 1941 by P.L. 1941 c. 192, for the purpose of investigating the problems facing urban blacks and to enforce existing civil rights legislation. The commission acted as both a study group, as well as an investigatory body. It was given the power of a legislative committee, including the right to subpoena witnesses and records. In the course of investigating an alleged civil rights violation, the commission would first attempt to resolve the problem out of court. Failing that, legal action was taken based on existing civil rights legislation, such as P.L. 1884 c. 219, P.L. 1921 c. 174, and P.L. 1935 c. 247.

The responsibilities of the Urban Colored Population Commission were largely taken over in 1945 by the state's Division of Civil Rights, as created by the Law Against Discrimination (P.L. 1945 c. 169). The commission continued to exist on paper until 1979, but ceased functioning in practice after 1947. The 1941 law that created the commission was officially repealed in 1979 (P.L. 1979 c. 341) as part of Governor Brendan Byrne's general program to eradicate ombudsman-type statutes.


Content Note

This collection consists mostly of the files compiled as a result of the commission's investigations, which were initiated in response to the filing of a complaint. Investigative case files generally contain handwritten notes by the complainant, newspaper clippings, the investigator's report(s), and sometimes even photographs.

The bulk of the investigation files are labeled individually, and are arranged alphabetically by the name of the complainant, or the location of the alleged civil rights violation. Cases investigated range in variety from cross burnings, to basic civil rights violations such as refusal of a diner employee to serve blacks. In addition to individual investigative files, other presumably less important cases are arranged collectively under the categories, "aid cases," "unemployment compensation cases", "employment" and "public accomodations." Aid cases and unemployment compensation cases consist of requests by black citizens to the commission for assistance in obtaining relief from state and local agenices. The other two categories are self-explanatory. General reports including statistical information, as well proposals on health, housing and employment, can be found under "race relations -- general reports".

The commission also served as an informal employment agency for the state's Afro-American residents. The file, "employment cases," contains resumes from job applicants, as well as letters of referral sent by the commission to prospective employers.

The remainder of the commission's records are largely administrative in nature. Of particular importance are the annual reports, which include research data compiled by commission investigators on current problems facing New Jersey's urban black population, and suggestions for legislative reform. The correspondence files pertain largely to budget and personnel requests, and general staff directives. Finally, a small number of personnel files have been retained because they illustrate contemporary procedures in the state's civil service system.



Contents

Box 1
Investigative Files
  Employment Cases (A-Z)
  Investigations -- Individual Cases:
    Aqueduct Alley Riot
    Atlantic City Cross Burning
    Bacote, Mr. and Mrs. Patrick
    Bloomfield Teacher's Request
    Carter, Isabelle -- Montclair State Teachers College
    Cranberry Poultry Farm
    Essex County Isolation Hospital
    Far Eastern Diner
    Fultz, James H. -- Police Civil Service Examinations
    Hamilton Township High School
    Lee, Wilfred R.
    Levitian Diner
    Lewis, Maurice A.
    Manitou Park Public School
    Passaic Racial Incident
    Perth Amboy -- Crystal Lunch Case
    Platto, Lucy
    Powell, Herman vs. State of Georgia
    Public Service Coordinated Transport Co.
    Randolph, Oliver
    Robinson -- Eighth Avenue Cleaners
    Smith, James R.
    Vaux Hall School -- Obie Mccullom
    Wall Township -- Cross Burning
  Investigations -- Collective Files:
    Aid Cases
    Employment Cases
    Housing
    Public Accommodations
    Unemployment Compensation Cases
Box 2
Investigative Files [cont'd]
  Investigators' Assignments
  Investigators' Reports:
    Hightower, Walker and Malloy
    Roger, W. Tucker
    Walker, O.G.
    Wright, L.D.
  Investigations -- General Reports on Race Relations
Administrative Files
  Administrative Correspondence:
    General
    Commission Members
    Governor's Circular Correspondence
    Joseph A. Clarke, Assistant Director
  Annual Reports, 1944-1947
  Budget and Finance
  Minutes and Agendas, 1942, 1943, 1944, 1947
  Monthly Financial Statements, 1946-1947
  Personnel:
    Action Requests
    Certification of Eligibles for Appointment
    Circular Letters of Civil Service Commission
    Employee Merit Ratings
    Job Descriptions
    Proof of Payroll, July 1, 1946 - December 31, 1947
    Salary Adjustment Commission
    State Employee's Retirement System of New Jersey
Box 3
  Unprocessed Material
Box 4
  Unprocessed Material

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations