njhome my new jersey people business government departments



Record Group: Governor's War Cabinet
Series: Minutes, 1942-1944
Accession #: 1995.060
Series #:  SZWAA001
Guide Date:  2/2007 (JJ)
Volume: 0.5 c.f. [1 box]; 1 reel [35-mm]


Contents (by date) | Subject index (coming soon)


Content Note

The roots of the Governor’s War Cabinet can be found in the Governor’s Emergency Committee, established by Gov. A. Harry Moore in September of 1939 in reaction to the war in Europe. The following year, a permanent organization was formalized through the creation of the New Jersey Defense Council (P.L. 1940, chap. 238, p. 924 and P.L. 1941, chap. 376, p. 981). The Committee and later the Council were established in order to coordinate the defense of the state and its population, working in conjunction with the National Defense Council. In 1942, the powers of the Council were transferred to the newly formed “governor’s emergency war cabinet.” This committee, which referred to itself as the “Governor’s War Cabinet” was composed of the following officials: governor, senate president, speaker of the General Assembly, adjutant general, State Police superintendent, and the civilian defense director (P.L. 1942, chap. 251, p. 680). The legislation empowered the governor to “employ all the available resources of the State government and of each and every political subdivision … and to commandeer and utilize any privately owned property” as needed for civilian defense.

This series consists of the minutes of the Cabinet, beginning with 3 March 1942 (while it still functioned as part of the New Jersey Defense Council) and continuing to 3 May 1944. The minutes record discussions of varying issues including: the recruitment and maintenance of the New Jersey State Guard; planning and implementation of black-outs and dim-outs in answer to concerns about possible German U-boat attacks; strategies for coping with shortages of fuel oil, coal and rubber; and reports of federal civil defense regulations, conferences and initiatives.

NOTE: In addition to the records of the New Jersey Defense Council and the Governor’s War Cabinet, researchers should consult the correspondence of Governors Moore, Edison and Edge for information about New Jersey during World War II.


Contents - By Date

Date Range
Pages
3 March 1942 - 10 March 1942
1 - 10
16 March 1942 - 31 March 1942 11 - 22
9 April 1942 - 14 April 1942 23 - 32
21 April 1942 - 4 May 1942 33 - 45
12 May 1942 - 26 May 1942 46 - 57
2 June 1942 - 9 June 1942 58 - 68
16 June 1942 - 23 June 1942 69 - 79
30 June 1942 - 7 July 1942 80 - 89
14 July 1942 - 21 July 1942 90 - 102
28 July 1942 - 4 August 1942 103 - 113
11 August 1942 - 18 August 1942 114 - 124
25 August 1942 - 1 September 1942 125 - 134
8 September 1942 - 22 September 1942 135 - 145
29 September 1942 - 6 October 1942 146 - 155
13 October 1942 - 20 October 1942 156 - 165
27 October 1942 - 10 November 1942 166 - 174
17 November 1942 - 24 November 1942 175 - 184
1 December 1942 - 8 December 1942 185 - 195
15 December 1942 - 29 December 1942 196 - 208
5 January 1943 - 19 January 1943 209 - 221
26 January 1943 - 2 February 1943 222 - 234
9 February 1934 - 16 February 1943 235 - 249
23 February 1943 - 2 March 1943 250 - 261
9 March 1943 - 16 March 1943 262 - 272
23 March 1943 - 30 March 1943 273 - 283
13 April 1943 - 20 April 1943 284 - 293
27 April 1943 - 4 May 1943 294 - 303
11 May 1943 - 18 May 1943 304 - 315
25 May 1943 - 1 June 1943 316 - 327

8 June 1943 - 29 June 1943

328 - 339
6 July 1943 - 13 July 1943 340 - 352
27 July 1943 353 - 359
3 August 1943 360 - 378
17 August 1943 379 - 387
31 August 1943 388 - 399
14 September 1943 - 28 September 1943 400 - 412
5 October 1943 - 19 October 1943 413 - 426
26 October 1943 427 - 437
9 November 1943 - 16 November 1943 438 - 446
30 November - 7 December 1943 447 - 457
14 December 1943 - 28 December 1943 458 - 468
4 January 1944 - 11 January 1944 469 - 476
3 February 1944 - 18 February 1944 477 - 490
2 March 1944 491 - 499
16 March 1944 500 - 508
3 May 1944 509 - 515

Created August 2007
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations